Skip to main content

Swarco Designing the Future of Smart City

Scalable design for the world’s first
fully-integrated Smart City platform.

We have been supporting SWARCO with this agile, multinational project to build the world’s first fully-integrated Smart City application. In our role as design team and consultants for sustainable product strategy, we’ve taken “SWARCO Smart City” through the entire innovation process, from product definition to flexible design systems and appropriate pattern libraries. This makes it possible to constantly develop and optimize the platform.

Traffic Manager using the swarco MyCity Dashboard in Dark Mode.
  • Background

    SWARCO, the world’s largest producer of traffic light systems, provides traffic management software for cities and regions across six continents. With this new central platform, SWARCO wanted to combine more than a dozen highly complex services—each with a different look and feel—under one single product umbrella.

    So working with SWARCO, we created the “MyCity” platform. The system allows traffic management centers around the world to improve traffic flow, reduce emissions and increase safety.

  • Challenge

    Current traffic management solutions encourage users to react to traffic problems rather than proactively prevent them.

    Our new platform not only needed to facilitate end-to-end traffic management but also had to use a scalable modular design to fit the needs of both smaller cities and large metropolitan regions. The standardized solution had to offer plenty of flexibility for individual customization as well as compatibility with third-party solutions. As a diverse range of users would use the software, the user interface needed to be easy for everyone to understand—from traffic engineers and police officers to city officials.

Process

The development process was based on an international user study, which we created and carried out in partnership with SWARCO. The insights we gained from this were essential for fully understanding how the MyCity software would be used in practice.

We developed both a concept for the application and a UI design. We then conducted a series of prototyping sessions and user tests to ensure that traffic management processes were mapped out in an ergonomic and easy-to-understand way. As SWARCO’s partners and consultants in research, conceptualization, and design, we are responsible for the continued development and quality assurance of the MyCity software.

Our main goal is to understand how internal workflows function and gather requirements for the system with the help of user interviews. We visualize the new work process in a flow chart to validate it with the various stakeholders.

MyCity user flow and information architecture diagram.

Outcome

SWARCO MyCity was released in 2020 and is currently used by several large cities. Thanks to its ergonomic and customizable user interface, the integrated traffic management system is popular with all user groups. New users, for example, can use a simplified version of the interface without experiencing reduced usability.

The transport industry is constantly changing—that’s why SWARCO MyCity was designed with modular growth in mind. With a sustainable information structure, design system, and pattern library, the design framework is not only flexible but scalable too. We are currently supporting SWARCO in identifying new customer needs and potential innovations.

  • 1

    Consumerization of traffic management: users get a solution that is as easy to use as Facebook or Gmail.

  • 2

    Increased user satisfaction and faster traffic report processing thanks to a simplified user interface and data visualizations.

  • 3

    Improved workflow and data management for proactive traffic management.

  • 4

    A safer city: state-of-the-art usability reduces the risk of control errors.

Methods we used

  • Accessibility Evaluation

  • Competitor Mapping

  • Designsystem

  • Informationsarchitektur

  • Journey Mapping

  • Moderiertes Remote-User-Testing

  • Personas

  • Prototyping & Usability-Testing

  • Stakeholder Management

  • Strategy & Concept Development

  • Wireframes & UI-Design

"Together, we have succeeded in providing our customers with an integrated, user-friendly mobility platform."
Christoph Stögerer, Head of Technology, ITS Division SWARCO

Skip to main content

Swarco Designing the Future of Smart City

Skalierbares Design für die weltweit erste vollintegrierte Smart-City-Plattform

In einem agilen, multinationalen Projekt unterstützen wir SWARCO, die weltweit erste vollintegrierte zu bauen. In unserer Rolle als Design-Team und Berater für nachhaltige Produktstrategie führten wir “Swarco Smart City” durch den gesamten Innovationsprozess: von der Produktdefinition bis zu flexiblen Designsystemen und entsprechenden Pattern Libraries. Die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung und Optimierung der Plattform sind somit sichergestellt.

  • Background

    Der Verkehrstechnikkonzern SWARCO stellt Verkehrsmanagement-Software für Städte und Länder auf sechs Kontinenten bereit. Mit einer zentralen Plattform wollte SWARCO mehr als ein Dutzend hochkomplexe Services mit unterschiedlichem Look-and-Feel unter einem Produktdach vereinigen.

    Wir unterstützten SWARCO bei der Umsetzung der Plattform “MyCity”. Durch das System können Verkehrszentralen weltweit Verkehrsflüsse beschleunigen, Emissionen verringern und die Sicherheit erhöhen.

  • Die Challenge

    Bestehende Traffic-Management-Lösungen leiten Nutzer dazu an, auf Verkehrsprobleme zu reagieren, anstatt diese proaktiv zu verhindern.

    Die Anwendung sollte einerseits eine ganzheitliche Verkehrssteuerung ermöglichen und andererseits durch modularen Aufbau an die Bedürfnisse von kleineren Städten als auch an die großer Metropolen anpassbar sein. Die standardisierte Softwarelösung muss daher viel Spielraum für individuelle Einstellungen bieten und mit Third-Party Solutions kombinierbar sein. Ebenso wird die Anwendung von verschiedensten Nutzergruppen bedient: Das User-Interface muss für alle gleichermaßen einfach und fehlerfrei bedienbar sein –  vom Verkehrsingenieur bis zum Polizisten und der Assistenz der Bürgermeisterin.

Projektablauf

Als Entwicklungsgrundlage diente eine internationale Nutzerstudie. Die User Study wurde gemeinsam mit Swarco konzipiert und durchgeführt. Die dadurch gewonnenen Einblicke waren essenziell für ein tiefgehendes Verständnis für das Einsatzgebiet der MyCity-Anwendung.

Im Anschluss an die Entwicklung des App-Konzeptes sowie des UI-Designs der Softwarelösung folgten iterative Prototyping Sessions und User Testings. So wurde sichergestellt, dass die Prozesse in Verkehrszentralen in ergonomischer, leicht verständlicher Art abgebildet werden. Empatic UX steht Swarco zur Weiterentwicklung und Qualitätssicherung von MyCity weiterhin als Forschungs-, Konzept- und Designpartner in Beratung und Umsetzung zur Seite.

Komplexe Abläufe vereinfachen

Hauptsächlich gilt es für uns mithilfe von Nutzerinterviews zu verstehen, wie die internen Arbeitsabläufe funktionieren und die Anforderungen an das System zu sammeln. Den neuen Arbeitsprozess visualisieren wir in einer Flow-Grafik, um sie mit den verschiedenen Stakeholdern zu validieren.

MyCity User-Flow und Informationsarchitekturdiagramm.

Outcomes

Swarco MyCity wurde 2020 veröffentlicht und ist heute in zahlreichen Großstädten im Einsatz. Das integrierte Verkehrssteuerungssystem wird von allen Nutzergruppen dank des ergonomischen und individuell anpassbarem User Interface gerne genutzt. Je nach Erfahrungslevel des Nutzers kann auch eine einfachere Ansicht zur Verfügung gestellt werden, die trotzdem funktioniert.

Die Mobilitätsbranche ist im Umbruch – daher wurde SWARCO MyCity für modulares Wachstum konzipiert. Dank nachhaltiger Informationsstruktur, Designsystem und Pattern Library ist die Designlandschaft flexibel und skalierbar. Wir begleiten SWARCO weiterhin bei der Identifikation neuer Kundenanforderungen und Innovationspotential.

  • 1

    Consumerization of Traffic Management: Nutzer erhalten eine Lösung, die so einfach zu benutzen ist, wie Facebook oder Gmail.

  • 2

    Höhere Nutzerzufriedenheit und schnellere Abwicklung von Verkehrsmeldungen durch eine vereinfachte Benutzeroberfläche und Datenvisualisierungen.

  • 3

    Verbesserte Arbeitsabläufe und Datenmanagement für ein proaktives Verkehrsmanagement.

  • 4

    Eine sicherere Stadt: state of the art Usability verringert das Risko von Steuerungsfehlern

Methods we used

  • Accessibility Bewertung

  • Designsystem

  • Informationsarchitektur

  • Journey Mapping

  • Konkurrenzanalyse

  • Moderiertes Remote-User-Testing

  • Personas

  • Prototyping & Usability-Testing

  • Stakeholder Management

  • Strategie- & Konzeptentwicklung

  • Wireframes & UI-Design

"Gemeinsam ist es uns gelungen, unseren Kunden eine integrierte, nutzerfreundliche Mobilitätsplattform zur Verfügung zu stellen."
Christoph Stögerer, Head of Technology, ITS Division SWARCO